Your source
Identify the water supplier or well and bring any available water results.

Kelowna and Area: (778) 477-6660
Alberta Area: (780) 229-4475
Saskatchewan Area (306) 790-0551
Water treatment in Kelowna
Scale on fixtures, a change in taste or a drinking-water question? Tell us your Kelowna water provider and what you are noticing. We review the supply, household use and installation space before proposing equipment.
Kelowna · British Columbia

The everyday difference
Different Kelowna properties can have different providers. A current supplier report gives useful context; a measurement at your own home helps us size treatment for your needs.

Identify the water supplier or well and bring any available water results.
Tell us about scale, staining, taste, odour or a change in flow.
Consider household use, plumbing, equipment space and access for service.
Local water information
Kelowna has several water-supply areas. City utility, Glenmore-Ellison, Rutland and Black Mountain reports describe different sources and sampling locations; their readings should stay separate.
Undated utility guidance · Checked September 12, 2026
These ranges are published in the City Water Utility’s water-quality guidance. They are not dated laboratory samples and should not be applied to other supply areas.
| Parameter and location | Unit | Published range |
|---|---|---|
| Hardness | mg/L | 110–130 |
| Chlorine · Intake | mg/L | 1.50–2.00 |
| Chlorine · Distribution | mg/L | 0.10–0.90 |
| Naturally occurring fluoride | mg/L | 0.20–0.30 |
| Trihalomethanes | µg/L (ppb) | 30–60 |
Sampled October 17, 2025 · Reported October 29, 2025 · CARO 25J2423
The first two samples are expressly labelled raw or pre-UV. The clearwell outflow is the drinking-water sample.
| Parameter | Unit | Okanagan Lake P/S · Raw | UV plant sink · Pre-UV raw | Clearwell outflow |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| pH | pH units | 8.06 | 7.76 | 7.67 |
| Total alkalinity | mg/L as CaCO₃ | 133 | 128 | 127 |
| Conductivity | µS/cm | 306 | 308 | 308 |
| Total iron | mg/L | <0.010 | <0.010 | <0.010 |
| Total manganese | mg/L | 0.00110 | 0.00096 | 0.00092 |
| Total sodium | mg/L | 12.3 | 12.3 | 12.2 |
| Chloride | mg/L | 6.44 | 6.57 | 8.33 |
| Fluoride | mg/L | 0.14 | 0.15 | 0.15 |
| Nitrate as N | mg/L | <0.010 | <0.010 | <0.010 |
| Nitrite as N | mg/L | <0.010 | <0.010 | <0.010 |
| Sulphate | mg/L | 30.5 | 30.1 | 29.6 |
Hardness and TDS are not listed in this certificate; alkalinity and conductivity are not substitutes for them. The pH entries carry the report’s HT2 holding-time qualifier.
Read the full Glenmore-Ellison laboratory report ↗Sampled June 29, 2026 · Reported July 7, 2026 · CARO 26F4241
Sample names are retained from the report. Results from Pearson School and the two well locations are listed separately.
| Parameter | Unit | Pearson School | Well #5 | Well #6 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hardness | mg/L as CaCO₃ | 35.6 | 261 | 224 |
| TDS | mg/L | 60.4 | 300 | 249 |
| Free chlorine | mg/L | 0.74 | 0.77 | <0.02 |
| pH | pH units | 7.25 | 7.96 | 8.04 |
| Total alkalinity | mg/L as CaCO₃ | 42.3 | 204 | 192 |
| Conductivity | µS/cm | 114 | 532 | 448 |
| Total iron | mg/L | 0.020 | <0.010 | <0.010 |
| Total manganese | mg/L | 0.00483 | <0.00020 | 0.00093 |
| Total sodium | mg/L | 7.31 | 12.3 | 9.59 |
The laboratory pH entries carry the HT2 holding-time qualifier. See the report for the complete chemistry and analysis conditions.
Read the full Black Mountain June 2026 report ↗Sampled June 29, 2026 · CARO 26F4241
These are additional sampling points in the same report. The intake result is explicitly raw water.
| Sample and parameter | Unit | Reported value |
|---|---|---|
| Screenworks · Free chlorine | mg/L | 2.40 |
| Screenworks · Alkalinity | mg/L as CaCO₃ | 37.0 |
| Screenworks · Conductivity | µS/cm | 109 |
| Screenworks · Turbidity | NTU | 0.62 |
| Screenworks · UV transmittance at 254 nm | % | 89.0 |
| Screenworks · pH original result | pH units | 6.87 |
| Screenworks · pH reanalysis | pH units | 7.28 |
| Screenworks · Total organic carbon | mg/L | 3.04 |
| WTP intake raw · Total organic carbon | mg/L | 3.81 |
Both Screenworks pH results are shown: the reanalysis used potassium chloride addition for low-ionic-strength pH analysis. Both carry HT2; the reanalysis also carries LOW EC. Hardness and TDS were not provided for these two sampling points.
Read the Screenworks and raw-intake results ↗January–December 2025 · Reported monthly averages
Monthly averages for this sampling location, covering all twelve months in Appendix A.
| Month | Free chlorine (mg/L) | Total chlorine (mg/L) | pH | Hardness (mg/L) | Iron (mg/L) | Nitrite (mg/L) | Nitrate (mg/L) | Manganese (mg/L) | Turbidity (NTU) | Temperature (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-01 | 0.19 | 0.24 | 7.4 | 218 | 0.02 | 0.001 | 1.2 | 0.021 | 0.16 | 11 |
| 2025-02 | 0.29 | 0.31 | 7.4 | 193 | 0.01 | 0.005 | 1.5 | 0.000 | 0.18 | 11 |
| 2025-03 | 0.37 | 0.44 | 7.5 | 195 | 0.14 | 0.003 | 2.4 | 0.053 | 0.24 | 12 |
| 2025-04 | 0.26 | 0.29 | 7.4 | 118 | 0.04 | 0.010 | 1.8 | 0.013 | 0.22 | 13 |
| 2025-05 | 0.18 | 0.21 | 7.5 | 215 | 0.01 | 0.006 | 1.9 | 0.017 | 0.22 | 14 |
| 2025-06 | 0.08 | 0.12 | 7.5 | 240 | 0.02 | 0.005 | 2.2 | 0.033 | 0.25 | 16 |
| 2025-07 | 0.13 | 0.17 | 7.5 | 279 | 0.14 | 0.002 | 2.9 | 0.055 | 0.28 | 16 |
| 2025-08 | 0.11 | 0.22 | 7.6 | 284 | 0.11 | 0.004 | 6.2 | 0.056 | 0.29 | 17 |
| 2025-09 | 0.22 | 0.27 | 7.4 | 192 | 0.01 | 0.006 | 1.6 | 0.023 | 0.28 | 16 |
| 2025-10 | 0.18 | 0.24 | 7.5 | 198 | 0.02 | 0.006 | 1.5 | 0.008 | 0.22 | 16 |
| 2025-11 | 0.22 | 0.26 | 7.5 | 198 | 0.00 | 0.001 | 1.6 | 0.018 | 0.23 | 14 |
| 2025-12 | 0.19 | 0.23 | 7.2 | 330 | 0.02 | 0.005 | 1.5 | 0.020 | 0.16 | 13 |
Units and displayed precision follow the report. The table does not specify the chemical reporting basis for nitrite and nitrate. A displayed 0.000 reflects the report’s precision and does not establish complete absence.
Read the Rutland Waterworks 2025 annual report ↗January–December 2025 · Reported monthly averages
Monthly averages for this sampling location, covering all twelve months in Appendix A.
| Month | Free chlorine (mg/L) | Total chlorine (mg/L) | pH | Hardness (mg/L) | Iron (mg/L) | Nitrite (mg/L) | Nitrate (mg/L) | Manganese (mg/L) | Turbidity (NTU) | Temperature (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-01 | 0.14 | 0.19 | 7.4 | 246 | 0.01 | 0.008 | 1.3 | 0.006 | 0.15 | 8 |
| 2025-02 | 0.21 | 0.26 | 7.4 | 194 | 0.03 | 0.001 | 1.9 | 0.011 | 0.19 | 6 |
| 2025-03 | 0.26 | 0.30 | 7.4 | 203 | 0.14 | 0.003 | 2.5 | 0.019 | 0.18 | 7 |
| 2025-04 | 0.19 | 0.23 | 7.4 | 182 | 0.02 | 0.005 | 1.2 | 0.011 | 0.20 | 9 |
| 2025-05 | 0.19 | 0.22 | 7.4 | 189 | 0.03 | 0.005 | 2.0 | 0.003 | 0.21 | 13 |
| 2025-06 | 0.19 | 0.26 | 7.4 | 173 | 0.09 | 0.004 | 1.2 | 0.008 | 0.26 | 15 |
| 2025-07 | 0.27 | 0.31 | 7.4 | 147 | 0.03 | 0.001 | 3.0 | 0.027 | 0.25 | 16 |
| 2025-08 | 0.18 | 0.23 | 7.5 | 243 | 0.01 | 0.005 | 5.1 | 0.018 | 0.26 | 17 |
| 2025-09 | 0.19 | 0.23 | 7.4 | 180 | 0.00 | 0.006 | 1.2 | 0.021 | 0.26 | 17 |
| 2025-10 | 0.17 | 0.20 | 7.5 | 249 | 0.02 | 0.003 | 1.5 | 0.022 | 0.21 | 16 |
| 2025-11 | 0.19 | 0.23 | 7.5 | 252 | 0.00 | 0.001 | 1.5 | 0.020 | 0.16 | 12 |
| 2025-12 | 0.16 | 0.20 | 7.2 | 270 | 0.01 | 0.005 | 1.1 | 0.019 | 0.19 | 11 |
Units and displayed precision follow the report. The table does not specify the chemical reporting basis for nitrite and nitrate. A displayed 0.000 reflects the report’s precision and does not establish complete absence.
Read the Rutland Waterworks 2025 annual report ↗January–December 2025 · Reported monthly averages
Monthly averages for this sampling location, covering all twelve months in Appendix A.
| Month | Free chlorine (mg/L) | Total chlorine (mg/L) | pH | Hardness (mg/L) | Iron (mg/L) | Nitrite (mg/L) | Nitrate (mg/L) | Manganese (mg/L) | Turbidity (NTU) | Temperature (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-01 | 0.15 | 0.19 | 7.4 | 229 | 0.05 | 0.004 | 1.9 | 0.019 | 0.17 | 9 |
| 2025-02 | 0.16 | 0.20 | 7.5 | 194 | 0.03 | 0.013 | 1.7 | 0.041 | 0.23 | 7 |
| 2025-03 | 0.09 | 0.13 | 7.4 | 145 | 0.03 | 0.003 | 2.2 | 0.041 | 0.23 | 10 |
| 2025-04 | 0.21 | 0.25 | 7.4 | 186 | 0.05 | 0.004 | 1.8 | 0.049 | 0.22 | 11 |
| 2025-05 | 0.22 | 0.29 | 7.5 | 212 | 0.04 | 0.004 | 1.4 | 0.049 | 0.21 | 14 |
| 2025-06 | 0.15 | 0.22 | 7.6 | 237 | 0.07 | 0.005 | 1.4 | 0.220 | 0.28 | 14 |
| 2025-07 | 0.09 | 0.13 | 7.5 | 205 | 0.06 | 0.006 | 3.5 | 0.100 | 0.25 | 16 |
| 2025-08 | 0.07 | 0.08 | 7.6 | 271 | 0.07 | 0.004 | 6.0 | 0.093 | 0.29 | 17 |
| 2025-09 | 0.08 | 0.10 | 7.5 | 178 | 0.22 | 0.004 | 0.9 | 0.090 | 0.34 | 17 |
| 2025-10 | 0.11 | 0.13 | 7.4 | 206 | 0.01 | 0.004 | 2.2 | 0.011 | 0.22 | 14 |
| 2025-11 | 0.25 | 0.29 | 7.4 | 206 | 0.01 | 0.002 | 2.8 | 0.019 | 0.20 | 12 |
| 2025-12 | 0.21 | 0.25 | 7.3 | 229 | 0.00 | 0.005 | 1.7 | 0.015 | 0.18 | 10 |
Units and displayed precision follow the report. The table does not specify the chemical reporting basis for nitrite and nitrate. A displayed 0.000 reflects the report’s precision and does not establish complete absence.
Read the Rutland Waterworks 2025 annual report ↗January–December 2025 · Reported monthly averages
Monthly averages for this sampling location, covering all twelve months in Appendix A.
| Month | Free chlorine (mg/L) | Total chlorine (mg/L) | pH | Hardness (mg/L) | Iron (mg/L) | Nitrite (mg/L) | Nitrate (mg/L) | Manganese (mg/L) | Turbidity (NTU) | Temperature (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-01 | 0.13 | 0.16 | 7.4 | 241 | 0.03 | 0.006 | 2.0 | 0.017 | 0.20 | 10 |
| 2025-02 | 0.08 | 0.11 | 7.4 | 212 | 0.05 | 0.015 | 1.7 | 0.007 | 0.20 | 9 |
| 2025-03 | 0.12 | 0.15 | 7.4 | 205 | 0.02 | 0.011 | 1.4 | 0.023 | 0.20 | 10 |
| 2025-04 | 0.20 | 0.27 | 7.4 | 179 | 0.02 | 0.018 | 2.6 | 0.068 | 0.20 | 11 |
| 2025-05 | 0.29 | 0.37 | 7.6 | 214 | 0.06 | 0.005 | 1.5 | 0.100 | 0.21 | 14 |
| 2025-06 | 0.20 | 0.22 | 7.6 | 209 | 0.05 | 0.005 | 1.3 | 0.207 | 0.25 | 15 |
| 2025-07 | 0.10 | 0.17 | 7.6 | 244 | 0.10 | 0.001 | 2.7 | 0.103 | 0.27 | 16 |
| 2025-08 | 0.12 | 0.16 | 7.4 | 247 | 0.08 | 0.007 | 4.8 | 0.080 | 0.29 | 16 |
| 2025-09 | 0.09 | 0.14 | 7.4 | 195 | 0.08 | 0.001 | 0.8 | 0.057 | 0.31 | 16 |
| 2025-10 | 0.12 | 0.14 | 7.4 | 222 | 0.01 | 0.003 | 1.7 | 0.014 | 0.21 | 15 |
| 2025-11 | 0.23 | 0.26 | 7.4 | 208 | 0.02 | 0.003 | 2.6 | 0.024 | 0.19 | 13 |
| 2025-12 | 0.16 | 0.21 | 7.3 | 217 | 0.01 | 0.002 | 1.2 | 0.013 | 0.20 | 11 |
Units and displayed precision follow the report. The table does not specify the chemical reporting basis for nitrite and nitrate. A displayed 0.000 reflects the report’s precision and does not establish complete absence.
Read the Rutland Waterworks 2025 annual report ↗January–December 2025 · Reported monthly averages
Monthly averages for this sampling location, covering all twelve months in Appendix A.
| Month | Free chlorine (mg/L) | Total chlorine (mg/L) | pH | Hardness (mg/L) | Iron (mg/L) | Nitrite (mg/L) | Nitrate (mg/L) | Manganese (mg/L) | Turbidity (NTU) | Temperature (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-01 | 0.35 | 0.42 | 7.3 | 242 | 0.05 | 0.003 | 1.7 | 0.004 | 0.17 | 9 |
| 2025-02 | 0.27 | 0.29 | 7.4 | 209 | 0.03 | 0.005 | 2.6 | 0.007 | 0.18 | 8 |
| 2025-03 | 0.29 | 0.30 | 7.4 | 221 | 0.02 | 0.000 | 2.6 | 0.015 | 0.18 | 8 |
| 2025-04 | 0.32 | 0.35 | 7.4 | 159 | 0.16 | 0.024 | 1.6 | 0.025 | 0.18 | 11 |
| 2025-05 | 0.24 | 0.29 | 7.3 | 204 | 0.03 | 0.003 | 2.8 | 0.000 | 0.20 | 13 |
| 2025-06 | 0.21 | 0.23 | 7.4 | 176 | 0.02 | 0.002 | 2.2 | 0.016 | 0.24 | 15 |
| 2025-07 | 0.23 | 0.28 | 7.3 | 161 | 0.01 | 0.015 | 3.1 | 0.016 | 0.24 | 15 |
| 2025-08 | 0.19 | 0.21 | 7.3 | 178 | 0.02 | 0.003 | 6.8 | 0.017 | 0.24 | 16 |
| 2025-09 | 0.14 | 0.16 | 7.3 | 190 | 0.01 | 0.001 | 1.7 | 0.015 | 0.24 | 17 |
| 2025-10 | 0.25 | 0.27 | 7.4 | 246 | 0.02 | 0.002 | 2.8 | 0.012 | 0.22 | 15 |
| 2025-11 | 0.36 | 0.36 | 7.5 | 154 | 0.05 | 0.002 | 1.6 | 0.019 | 0.20 | 12 |
| 2025-12 | 0.45 | 0.50 | 7.4 | 226 | 0.02 | 0.004 | 1.7 | 0.017 | 0.18 | 10 |
Units and displayed precision follow the report. The table does not specify the chemical reporting basis for nitrite and nitrate. A displayed 0.000 reflects the report’s precision and does not establish complete absence.
Read the Rutland Waterworks 2025 annual report ↗January–December 2025 · Reported monthly averages
Monthly averages for this sampling location, covering all twelve months in Appendix A.
| Month | Free chlorine (mg/L) | Total chlorine (mg/L) | pH | Hardness (mg/L) | Iron (mg/L) | Nitrite (mg/L) | Nitrate (mg/L) | Manganese (mg/L) | Turbidity (NTU) | Temperature (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-01 | 0.19 | 0.22 | 7.3 | 275 | 0.08 | 0.003 | 1.7 | 0.008 | 0.18 | 9 |
| 2025-02 | 0.25 | 0.27 | 7.4 | 193 | 0.00 | 0.001 | 1.4 | 0.012 | 0.18 | 7 |
| 2025-03 | 0.31 | 0.34 | 7.4 | 210 | 0.01 | 0.035 | 1.7 | 0.023 | 0.18 | 8 |
| 2025-04 | 0.20 | 0.24 | 7.4 | 153 | 0.01 | 0.005 | 2.2 | 0.010 | 0.20 | 11 |
| 2025-05 | 0.16 | 0.21 | 7.3 | 227 | 0.02 | 0.016 | 1.7 | 0.000 | 0.19 | 13 |
| 2025-06 | 0.14 | 0.15 | 7.3 | 168 | 0.01 | 0.001 | 2.1 | 0.017 | 0.22 | 15 |
| 2025-07 | 0.16 | 0.19 | 7.4 | 197 | 0.00 | 0.006 | 3.2 | 0.015 | 0.24 | 16 |
| 2025-08 | 0.22 | 0.26 | 7.3 | 213 | 0.02 | 0.003 | 4.7 | 0.015 | 0.22 | 17 |
| 2025-09 | 0.16 | 0.19 | 7.3 | 198 | 0.00 | 0.004 | 1.1 | 0.017 | 0.28 | 16 |
| 2025-10 | 0.15 | 0.18 | 7.4 | 226 | 0.01 | 0.003 | 1.7 | 0.010 | 0.22 | 15 |
| 2025-11 | 0.17 | 0.21 | 7.5 | 158 | 0.06 | 0.002 | 1.4 | 0.020 | 0.18 | 12 |
| 2025-12 | 0.16 | 0.20 | 7.4 | 240 | 0.00 | 0.003 | 1.2 | 0.009 | 0.18 | 10 |
Units and displayed precision follow the report. The table does not specify the chemical reporting basis for nitrite and nitrate. A displayed 0.000 reflects the report’s precision and does not establish complete absence.
Read the Rutland Waterworks 2025 annual report ↗January–December 2025 · Reported monthly averages
Monthly averages for this sampling location, covering all twelve months in Appendix A.
| Month | Free chlorine (mg/L) | Total chlorine (mg/L) | pH | Hardness (mg/L) | Iron (mg/L) | Nitrite (mg/L) | Nitrate (mg/L) | Manganese (mg/L) | Turbidity (NTU) | Temperature (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-01 | 0.21 | 0.24 | 7.3 | 188 | 0.00 | 0.002 | 1.8 | 0.017 | 0.18 | 9 |
| 2025-02 | 0.36 | 0.38 | 7.3 | 190 | 0.02 | 0.003 | 1.5 | 0.010 | 0.20 | 10 |
| 2025-03 | 0.33 | 0.36 | 7.3 | 236 | 0.00 | 0.007 | 2.0 | 0.008 | 0.19 | 10 |
| 2025-04 | 0.23 | 0.27 | 7.4 | 195 | 0.06 | 0.001 | 2.0 | 0.014 | 0.18 | 11 |
| 2025-05 | 0.24 | 0.29 | 7.3 | 179 | 0.08 | 0.007 | 1.5 | 0.002 | 0.22 | 13 |
| 2025-06 | 0.37 | 0.41 | 7.2 | 171 | 0.01 | 0.002 | 1.3 | 0.021 | 0.26 | 15 |
| 2025-07 | 0.30 | 0.36 | 7.3 | 189 | 0.01 | 0.012 | 3.4 | 0.013 | 0.24 | 15 |
| 2025-08 | 0.25 | 0.32 | 7.4 | 155 | 0.06 | 0.009 | 5.4 | 0.023 | 0.24 | 15 |
| 2025-09 | 0.30 | 0.37 | 7.3 | 131 | 0.00 | 0.000 | 0.5 | 0.015 | 0.24 | 14 |
| 2025-10 | 0.34 | 0.36 | 7.3 | 217 | 0.01 | 0.003 | 2.1 | 0.009 | 0.22 | 12 |
| 2025-11 | 0.24 | 0.26 | 7.5 | 206 | 0.00 | 0.002 | 2.2 | 0.017 | 0.19 | 12 |
| 2025-12 | 0.19 | 0.24 | 7.4 | 254 | 0.00 | 0.003 | 0.9 | 0.012 | 0.16 | 10 |
Units and displayed precision follow the report. The table does not specify the chemical reporting basis for nitrite and nitrate. A displayed 0.000 reflects the report’s precision and does not establish complete absence.
Read the Rutland Waterworks 2025 annual report ↗These are dated public results for the locations shown, not a current test of your home. “<” means below the stated reporting limit, not zero. The linked reports contain the full results and laboratory notes. Sources checked September 12, 2026. Follow your supplier’s current notices and advisories.
How we approach it
We explain the purpose of the selected equipment and the practical installation requirements.
A complete treatment plan
A few useful answers
It provides supply context. We also consider your own hardness reading, water use, service flow and the available equipment space.
Send the system name, a clear equipment photo and a description of the concern. We can discuss servicing it or planning a suitable replacement.
Start with your water
Tell us where you are, what you’re noticing and what space you have. We’ll help you understand the next step.